New Zealand Society of Air Safety Investigators

NZSASI Officers

Alister Buckingham | President
Alister Buckingham | President
Mike Zaytsoff | Vice-President
Mike Zaytsoff | Vice-President
Wayne Jones | Secretary/Treasurer
Wayne Jones | Secretary/Treasurer

A brief history

In October 1984, a group of like-minded New Zealand-resident ISASI members decided to bid for the hosting of the 1986 ISASI seminar. For the record, these august gentlemen were: Ron Chippindale, George Oldfield, Selwyn Hetherington, Peter Rhodes, and Ivan Strathern. Their bid was successful, and the seminar was held in Rotorua in October 1986, a venue that proved to be very popular – and profitable. The net surplus was approximately NZ$38,000, half of which was remitted to ISASI in accordance with seminar policy.



Now well provided for financially, NZSASI officially began life at its inaugural meeting in Auckland on 3 September 1987, attended by seven members, with an apology for one unable to attend (chances are that he was out on an accident site somewhere). The Society’s first Executive comprised: Ron Chippindale, President; Selwyn Hetherington, Vice-President; George Oldfield, Secretary/Treasurer; and Peter Rhodes, Chairman Membership Committee. The NZSASI Constitution was adapted from the parent Society’s.

Small beginnings, but membership rose to around the 70 mark over the years, and remained reasonably steady until 2020-21. The profound effect of Covid-19 on aviation was reflected in the membership numbers as of the date of the 2021 BGM – 43, including seven Life Members.

The last ISASI seminar hosted by NZSASI was held in Auckland over the week of 22-27 September 1996. This was another very popular seminar (and profitable – it doubled the Society’s already heathy bank balance). Planning was well under way to host the 2012 ISASI seminar in Auckland, but it became evident that it was too great a financial risk for NZSASI to continue. Other factors were involved, but financial jeopardy was the main reason for abandoning the project.

The annual ANZSASI seminars have always been well-subscribed, but again, Covid-19 has impacted heavily on these events. The seminar originally scheduled for June 2020 on the Gold Coast has been postponed for the fourth time. It is now scheduled for June 2023, there being no ANZSASI planned for 2022, with the international seminar scheduled for the week of 28 August-2 September in Brisbane. Assuming that all goes to plan, NZSASI’s next turn to host the regional seminar will be in June 2024.

Current NZSASI Officers

President: Alister Buckingham
Vice-President: Mike Zaystoff

Secretary/Treasurer: Wayne Jones

NZ Councillor: Alister Buckingham

Past Presidents

1987-2004: Ron Chippindale

2004-2010: Peter Williams

2010-2012: Alan Moselen

2012-2017: Alister Buckingham

2017-2019: Graham Streatfield

2019-2021: Paul Breuilly


Forthcoming Events

There are no NZSASI events currently scheduled. At the 2021 biennial general meeting on 9 July, the possibility of interacting with like-minded other societies was discussed, and in keeping with that idea, members may be interested in the Royal Aeronautical Society (NZ Division) annual symposium, which was to be held in Christchurch on 29 October, but now postponed to 18 February 2022.

Attendance is not restricted to RAeS members; full details are on this link: Annual Symposium | RAeS – NZ Division (


Thanks are due to ASASI for graciously allowing NZSASI to share their website; the groundwork for this was done by our immediate past Executive – Paul Breuilly (Pres) and Lou Child (VP and latterly Sec/Treas). Both stepped down from their roles because of punishing workloads in their primary employment, and the new Executive will be building on their achievements over the past two years.


The NZSASI page will be updated from time to time as new events or information come to hand. NZSASI newsletters will also be posted periodically.